top of page


Celebrating Excellence: Toronto Arthouse Film Festival's 2023 Award-Winning Films

In the past week, the Toronto Arthouse Film Festival marked its return with the eagerly awaited 2023 edition. This year's event featured four screening evenings at the historic FOX Theater, complemented by an engaging online streaming selection. A vibrant assortment of 30 films, curated from both local and international talent, encompassing narrative films, documentaries, experimental gems, and music videos, contributed to the festival's resounding success, drawing a diverse community of indie film enthusiasts. Festival host and manager, Maarten Cornelis, expressed his delight, stating, "TAFF 2023 was a major triumph! Witnessing the growth of the modest festival we inaugurated in 2015 into a global cultural hub for filmmakers is immensely gratifying. Out of the 2,000 submissions, 30 remarkable films secured a spot in the final selection, screened to a captivated audience at the esteemed FOX Theater. Heartfelt congratulations to all the filmmakers, and our sincere appreciation for sharing your narratives with us. We eagerly await your participation in the 9th edition of TAFF next year!"


Kris De Meester, the festival's curator, echoed the sentiment, noting, "The Toronto Arthouse Film Festival is a visual and intellectual delight, continually pushing the boundaries of cinematic art. The privilege of evaluating the multitude of exceptional films from around the globe is truly inspiring. I am eagerly looking forward to commencing work on the next edition."


Today, TAFF takes great pleasure in unveiling the distinguished recipients of the 2023 awards, as determined by our jury panel:


- Best Narrative Feature Film: "In Her Name" (United States) by Sarah Carter

- Best Documentary Feature Film: "Natalia" (United States) by Elizabeth Mirzaei

- Best Narrative Short Film: "Our Males and Females" (Jordan) by Ahmad Alyaseer

- Best Documentary Short Film: "Death is Dangerous, It Could Hurt" (Canada) by Mariane Béliveau

- Best Animated Short Film: "Slower Animals" (United States) by John Christopher Kelley

- Best Experimental Film: "Kiss/Crash" (United Kingdom) by Adam Cole

- Best Music Video: "Chemical Somnia" (Canada) by Scott Portingale

- Best LGBTQ+ Film: "Our Males and Females" (Jordan) by Ahmad Alyaseer

- Best Acting: Annabelle Ulloa Garay in "Love is the Monster" (Costa Rica) by Neto Villalobos Brenes

- Best Canadian Film: "Time Traveling Through Time" (Canada) by Ryan Ward


Congratulations to all the talented winners!


Kiss/Crash (United Kingdom) by Adam Cole

In Her Name (United States) by Sarah Carter

Gentle Hum of Spring (Canada) by Simon Garez

Natalia (United States) by Elizabeth Mirzaei

Chemical Somnia (Canada) by Scott Portingale

No Bedroom (Canada) by Ryan Leedu

Black Dragon (United States) by Alexander Thompson

After Bed (United States) by TT Takemoto

Deep Blue (Canada) by Franie-Éléonore Bernier

Slower Animals (United States) by John Christopher Kelley

Love is the monster (Costa Rica) by Neto Villalobos Brenes

Tidal (United States) by Katrina Lillian Sorrentino (Treen)

Rock of Ages (Canada) by Ian Johnston

Death is dangerous, it could hurt (Canada) by Mariane Béliveau

Beautiful Figures (Belgium) by Soetkin Verstegen

European Man...American Beach (United States) by Rex Shannon

Time Traveling Through Time (Canada) by Ryan Ward

Daron, Daron Colbert (United States) by Kevin Edward Steen

Text me when you get home xx (Germany) by Niklas Bauer

Shadow (Canada) by Alexander Zip

Our Males and Females (Jordan) by Ahmad Alyaseer

Redemption (Italy) by Maria Martinelli

The First Two (Hungary) by Balázs Szövényi-Lux

Personality Counseling Center at 0 Avenue (Korea, Republic of) by Mingu Kang

The Garden of Living Ghosts (Finland) by Sami von Salvius

Until the End of Time (United Kingdom) by Daarya Serji

Ride (Australia) by Jeno Kim

Holestepper (Peru) by Sergio Fernández Muñoz

They Are Out There (Germany) by Patrick Schroll

Archeìo (Switzerland) by Jonathan Moratal

bottom of page